Cocktails & Canapes

After reading about various Spirited Dinners and Cocktail matching Dinners, I decided I like the idea so much that I would like to try it out at The Kenilworth. Problem 1. We have the smallest kitchen known to man (5ft x 9ft) Problem 2. We have no chef (our owner is our breakfast chef) Problem 3. we have no dinner service. All in all not a great starting point but with my father’s famous catchphrase bounding around my head: “there are no problems, only solutions” I set out to create a cocktail and food matching event at The Kenilworth. Luckily, for me , I just happen to know a very good chef (ex-Michelin Star kitchen) by the name of Steven Mooney who frequents our bar and makes our famous Kenilworth Fudge!

Three months of trials and testing ensued and we finally nailed down a menu that a) could be made with our limited facilities at The Kenilworth b) would be cheap enough to offer to our Kenilworth patrons.

The Menu

Marinated grilled King Prawns with parsley, lemon, mint and chilli

accompanied by

Arette Blanco Tequila shaken with fresh sweet red pepper juice, chilli, mango and pineapple

*

Tenderloin of Wild Scottish Venison with Cherry Balsamic glaze

accompanied by

Beefeater Gin stirred with Elysium Black Muscat, Black Cherry Bitters and Luxardo Maraschino

*

Cremé de Cassis laced New York style Cheesecake with Sailor Jerry infused California Raisins

accompanied by

Vanilla & Date infused English Harbour Rum shaken with cinnamon-apple compote and Pimento Dram

*

Leave a comment