The Morning After…

I have entered the 42 Below Cocktail World Cup every year so far, and never so much as got a call back… this year I was not going to take no for an answer! I trialed, tested, scrutinised and deliberated over my drink for weeks, finally settling on an adaptation of an old ‘Obsidian’ favourite, The Morning After Martini. Created by my best bud, mentor and phone a friend, Jamie Stephenson the ‘Morning after’ was a simple twist on the Kangaroo with Cointreau and Maraschino with Pink Grapefruit zests; a recreation of sweet and dry citrus fruits found in Marmalade. My adaptation took this idealogy and simply expanded with a touch of 42 Below bravado!

I started with the idea of a morning routine I used to use after a heavy night (usually in Mojo) on the beer… I would make myself

The Morning After Martini

42ml Buttered Toast infused 42 Below
5ml 42 Below Manuka Honey
5ml 42 Below Passion Fruit
10ml Cointreau
10ml Teisierre Pamplemousse
10ml Pink Grapefruit Dolin Chambery
3 drops Homemade Bergamot Bitters

Stirred in a teapot and served in an Mini Marie Antoinette glass.

Garnished with a Lemon Zest and the undeniable smell of hot toast!

Served with Berocca, Glaceau ‘Citrus’ Vitamin Water and 2 Advil…

Leave a comment